User Name:

Password:

FAQ Donate Join

Atheist Community of Austin
The Atheist Experience on Christianity

I find curious how the hosts on this show seem to use logical fallacies quite often,especially on episode 748. Don calls out a caller for special pleading, then appeals to ignorance. Now, I am not a professional philosopher, but this guy clearly does not communicate with himself. And why is it that Russell thinks it is fine not conjecturing with out evidence but if one of his atheist buddies got up and spat out a physical theory he would be okay with it? Please, get these ignoramuses off the air. They atheism a bad name. Actually, they don't even know their own position. How many times do people have to point out to you guys that your position is agnosticism as you pint out in every episode, but you seem to be willfully ignorant. Please read a book and get of the Internet. Stop reading the back cover and absorb the information within.

"Don calls out a caller for special pleading, then appeals to ignorance." Can you be more specific?

I guess you didn't hear the caller's second definition for atheism: disbelief in the existence of a supreme being or beings. This is perfectly consistent with the definition on our front page: "We define atheism as the lack of belief in gods."

Agnosticism is about knowledge, not belief. See our FAQ (http://www.atheist-community.org/faq/#atheist_agnostic). I'm sorry we don't conform to your world view.

What books have you read in the last month?