User Name:

Password:

FAQ Donate Join

Atheist Experience
can killing become moral?

i'll admit, i'm a rookie at this. on the subject of moral absolutes, and the moral absolute that killing is wrong regardless of subjective beliefs, i would like to suggest a scenario where killing people could become a 'moral absolute', much in the way sacrifices or slavery were thought of as morally acceptable. let's say that in the future, we find the earth overpopulated to the point where we realize that killing the sick, malformed or otherwise diminished newborns, and the elderly and terminally ill is more beneficial to the planet as a whole. the care, medicine, food, money and resources spent on these people could be better used to ensure a stronger overall poulation. this may lead to a shift in culture, where death is no longer feared, but becomes a necessary part of survival, and where those dying are revered like the ancient japanese legends for their bravery and honour. it is too hard to imagine the benefits, or even to speculate on the conditions that could produce such a society, and the specifics of the society are not what i want to focus on. if that society could arise, is it possible that they could see killing not as absolutely immoral, but absolutely moral? and, when they look back on our belief that killing is immoral, would they argue that we were morally inferior because we couldn't see the benefits to society and to mankind, and we were merely acting on what the moral attitudes towards life were in our 'primitive' culture? or would they say, "killing is right, and has always been right, no matter what they did in the 21st century"?

From Realityman,