User Name:

Password:

FAQ Donate Join

Atheist Experience
I've been listening to old podcasts

Hi,

I've been an atheist since I was around fourteen or fifteen (which is a good fourteen or fifteen years now), and recently I've been listening to some of the old audio podcasts of the show. (I live in Austin, and was going to try to make the next after-dinner show, which, I guess, would be tonight, unless I'm horribly mistaken)

Anyway, in one of the shows I was listening to, the topic of determinism and free will came up, and one of the hosts had made a comment about quantum effects and determinism and how it was a bad argument, and I'm wondering what exactly the argument being referred to was, and how it falls down.

I'm not a physicist, I'm a layman with a strong interest in such things. I tend to think that what we know of how things work on the quantum scale might allow a mechanism (or side effect, or whatever you want to call it) that allows us to take actions in a non-deterministic way, where a completely deterministic model like Newtonian physics has no room for such an effect. Although I wouldn't positively state it actually is that way (I don't think I have enough knowledge to make such a statement), just that it could be.

So I kind of wanted to get people's take on that and find out exactly what the particular speaker meant when he was saying the quantum effects argument was bad. (I apologize for not knowing names)

Thanks.